Rhyl pupils scoop North Wales Education Awards

Two Rhyl pupils from Ysgol Dewi Sant and Ysgol Emmanuel won Pupil of the Year at the North Wales Eduction Awards held by the Rhyl Journal, North Wales Pioneer and Denbighshire Free Press.

The awards which took place of Friday 10th November at the Oriel Hotel in St Asaph and hosted by radio presenter Phil Ashcroft were to highlight the work and achievements of local schools, pupils, support staff and teachers in North Wales.

After a difficult decision to pick one winner for the The Pupil of the Year Award by the award sponsors it was decided that all 3 nominations would win the award.  The winners were:

Jacob Allman-Whitehouse, age 9 of Ysgol Dewi Sant, Rhyl, who lost his Dad to cancer in 2022, returning to school after four days and then went on to raise £3,500 for St Kentigern Hospice and run the Race For Life.

Corey Hughes age 12 of Ysgol Emmanuel in Rhyl was been instrumental in working with the lead teacher and the younger members to bring about positive changes at his school by using his place on the school council.

Ioan Evans, of Ysgol Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd in Ruthin, was five years old when he beat almost 2,000 other children  rugby competition at the Urdd National Eisteddfod in Denbigh

For a more in-depth story please follow the link to the Rhyl Journal Website – HERE

Winners – North Wales Education Awards 2023 

Primary School Pupil of the Year – Corey Hughes / Jacob Allman-Whitehouse / Ioan Evans

Primary School Teacher of the Year – Jodie Martin

Primary School of the Year – Ysgol Y Foryd

Secondary School Pupil of the Year – Dylan Roberts

Secondary School Teacher of the Year – Paul Woodhouse

Secondary School of the Year – Ysgol Eirias

Early Years Education Award – Jumping Jacks Day Nursery

Support Worker of the Year – Liah Williams

Teaching Assistant of the Year – Eleri Dennis

Head Teacher of the Year – Ian Gerrard

Specialist Provision School of the Year – Ysgol Plas Brondyffryn

Lifetime Achievement Award – Gaynor Roberts